Skegness Pier Angling Club AGM – 2017

by Chas Tibble

The Skegness Pier Angling Club (SPAC) AGM took place in the New Park Club Skegness, followed by the annual Trophy Presentation, grand raffle and buffet. Committee details/winners are as listed below and some photos are attached:


President – Alan Steadman

Chairman – Dean Sumner Deputy Chairman – Mark Holmes

Treasurer – Bev Faithful Cup Custodian – Christine Faithful

Secretary/Press Officer/Fish Recorder – Chas Tibble

Match Organisers – Dave Burr, Mark Holmes, Alan Steadman & Chas Tibble


Dave Burr:  Coleman Cup

Adie Cooper: Hewison Cup, Dodsworth Cup, Festival Trophy, RNLI Gamble Cup, Mrs Wheatcroft Cup, Ron Scott Trophy, Beachcomber Trophy, Carlsberg Trophy

Mark Holmes: Kingsley Cup

Adie Cooper (right) receiving one of his trophies from Alan Steadman

Adie Cooper (right) receiving one of his trophies from Alan Steadman

Garry Hutson: Healey Cup, Ex-Servicemen’s Cup, Dutton Cup

Dan Jackson: Stan Marvin Cup, Derby Miners Cup, Shipstone Cup, A Smith Cup

Paul Marshall: Frank Parkins Shield, Sheffield Cup, Dave White Cup

Dave Shorthouse: Species Hunt, Roy Parker Cup

Alan Steadman: C Smith Cup, Gordon Long Cup

Dave Burr & Lincolnshire Pairs

Paul Marshall:

Paul Marshall & Mixed Pairs

Denise Seaton:

Match Aggregate Points Top 3 (From 25 matches)

1. Adie Cooper  202 points

2. Dave Burr  163 points

3. Alan Steadman  134 points

Match Aggregate Length Winner (From 24 matches)

Adie Cooper  8092cm

Fish of the Year Winners

Heaviest Round Fish: Richard Leighton 14lb 6oz smoothound

Heaviest Flat Fish: Adie Cooper  1lb 12½oz flounder

Heaviest Silver Eel: Paul Marshall 13oz (55cm) silver eel

RNLI Cheque Presentation

£100:00 to Skegness Lifeboat

AGM Match

The annual AGM match took place the day after, in perfect conditions at Chapel Point. Unfortunately, the fish were hard to come by, but Grimsby ace Adie Cooper made good use of his prodigious casting skills, to catch 9 dabs and 3 whiting measuring 276cm in total, winning the Healey Cup. Some way behind in second place came Paul Denholm, with 3 whiting, a flounder and a small coalfish for 111cm. He also won the longest round fish prize with his best whiting, which hit the measure at 33cm. Karl Nangle made it a clean sweep for Grimsby anglers, taking third place with 4 dabs for 85cm. Croxton’s Dave Burr struggled to catch just 2 dabs, but won the longest flatfish prize with a 28cm specimen.

AGM match winner Adie Cooper with a double shot of small whiting

AGM match winner Adie Cooper with a double shot of small whiting

The next SPAC match will be held on Saturday 25th Feb from 4 till 8pm at Trunch Lane, with Club members fishing for the Gordon Long Cup. There is also an open section, which non-members are welcome to participate in. All current SPAC members please note that subscriptions have remained the same as last year and are payable by the 31st Mar. For further information please contact Chas Tibble on 07984 967988 or

The gallery was not found!
Facebook Comments Box

You may also like

Leave a Comment

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.