Trophy Time For Skegness Pier Angling Club

by Chas Tibble

skagness pier angling club logoThe Skegness Pier Angling Club (SPAC) AGM and Trophy Presentation took place on Saturday 24th February from 7:30pm in the New Park Club on Scarborough Avenue, Skegness. It was a real family occasion, with 26 attending, which I am pleased to say is the best ever attendance during my 10 year tenure as SPAC Secretary.

The SPAC Committee for 2018/2019 is as follows:

President – Alan Steadman

Chairman – Dean Sumner

Deputy Chairman – Mark Holmes

Treasurer – Chas Tibble

Cup Custodian – Christine Faithfull

Secretary – Chas Tibble

Press Officer – Chas Tibble

Fish Recorder – Chas Tibble

Alan, Adie & Christine

Alan, Adie & Christine

Match Organisers – Dave Burr/Mark Holmes/Alan Steadman/Chas Tibble

Following the AGM, trophies and cash awards were presented to the successful anglers from 2017 as follows:

Paul Denholm – C Smith Cup, Ex Service Cup

Adie Cooper – Coleman Cup, Healey Cup, Beachcomber Trophy, Dutton Cup, Shipstone Cup, Kingsley Cup, Parade Hotel Trophy, Bass Carrington Trophy

Daniel Jackson – Gordon Long Cup

Dave Shorthouse – Stan Marvin Cup

Dylan Morgan – Derby Miners Cup

Dave Burr – Hewison Cup

Paul Marshall – Frank Parkins Shield, Dodsworth Cup

Garry Hutson – Roy Parker Cup, Mrs Wheatcroft Cup, Ron Scott Trophy, Earl of Scarborough Cup

Alan Steadman – RNLI Gamble Cup, Dave White Cup

Ian Nelson – Carlsberg Trophy, Keightly Cup

Bob Foster – Committee Shield

Match Aggregate Points Top 3 (From 23 matches):

  1. Adie Cooper – 150pts
  2. Alan Steadman – 147pts
  3. Dylan Morgan – 112pts

Match Aggregate Length Winner (From 23 matches):

Adie Cooper – 5828cm

Fish of the Month Awards

  • January (Joint Winners): Adie Cooper – 15oz whiting / Dave Burr – 15oz dab / Paul Denholm – 15oz flounder
  • February: Alan Steadman – 1lb 12oz Lesser Spotted Dogfish (LSD)
  • March (Joint Winners): Adie Cooper – 1lb 15oz LSD / Paul Denholm – 1lb 15oz LSD / Ian Nelson – 1lb 15oz LSD
  • April: Paul Marshall – 6lb 5oz thornback ray
  • May: Daniel Jackson – 2lb 3.125oz LSD
  • June: Paul Marshall – 1lb flounder
  • July: Alan Steadman – 8lb smoothhound
  • August: Garry Hutson – 16lb 4oz smoothhound
  • September: Alan Steadman – 1lb flounder
  • October: Adie Cooper – 5lb 12oz smoothhound
  • November: Adie Cooper – 1lb 6oz whiting
  • December: Adie Cooper – 7lb 3oz cod

Fish of the Year 2017

Heaviest Round – Garry Hutson – 16lb 4oz hound

Heaviest Flat – Ian Nelson – 1lb 6oz flounder

Longest Eel – Bob Foster – 71cm silver eel

Alan Steadman receiving his trophy from Cup Custodian, Christine Faithfull

Alan Steadman receiving his trophy from Cup Custodian, Christine Faithfull

After the presentations, a buffet was provided, then most won at least one prize in the AGM raffle. A great evening and after a bit of a downturn last year, a pleasing upturn in this long established Club’s fortunes, with almost thirty paid up members already this year, with some new faces most welcome.

The following day the annual AGM match was fished for the Gordon Long Cup at Chapel Point. Conditions were very poor, with a rough sea and bitingly cold wind for the 6 hardy souls that turned up. Everyone fished for the full 4 hours, but unfortunately despite their best efforts, not one fish was caught! After the match, the remains of the previous evening’s buffet helped to ease the anglers’ woes and the local seagulls were extremely grateful to mop up everything that was left.

The next SPAC match had been scheduled for this coming Saturday 3rd Mar from 4:30 till 8:30pm at Wolla Bank. However, given the current weather conditions, the long term forecast and lack of a suitable back up venue, it has been decided to cancel the match.

For further information please contact SPAC Secretary Chas Tibble on 07984 967988 or

You can follow the Skegness Pier Angling Club reports from their own site topic.

The gallery was not found!
Facebook Comments Box

You may also like