Skegness Pier Angling Club Presentation 2015

by Chas Tibble

The SPAC AGM took place in the New Park Club Skegness, followed by the annual Trophy Presentation, grand raffle and buffet. Winners are as listed below and some photos are attached:

Skegness Pier Angling Club Committee

  • President – Alan Steadman
  • Chairman – Dean Sumner
  • Deputy Chairman – Mark Holmes
  • Treasurer – Bev Faithful
  • Cup Custodian – Christine Faithful
  • Secretary – Chas Tibble
  • Press Officer – Chas Tibble
  • Fish Recorder – Chas Tibble
  • Match Organisers – Paul Cridland, Mark Holmes & Chas Tibble


Trophy & Award Winners –2014

  • Dave Shorthouse: Dodsworth Cup, Sheffield Cup
  • Dave & Josh Shorthouse: Lincolnshire Pairs
  • Paul Marshall: Goodrick Cup, Dave White Cup, Beachcomber Trophy
  • Paul & Kellie Marshall: Mixed Pairs
  • Dave Burr: Coleman Cup, Stan Marvin Cup, Roy Parker Cup, Festival Trophy
  • Alan Steadman: C Smith Cup, Frank Parkins Shield, Enderby Cup, Mrs Wheatcroft Cup, Ron Scott Trophy
  • Dave Bradley: Healey Cup
  • Jim Robinson: Gordon Long Cup, Ex Servicemen’s Cup, Derby Miners Cup, Hewison Cup, Species Hunt, Biggest Fish Rover (Kingsley Cup)
  • Mark Holmes: Shipstone Cup, A Smith Cup
  • Karl Nangle: RNLI/Carnival, Dutton Cup, Xmas Fayre (Carlsberg Trophy)

Match Aggregate Points Top 3 (From 27 matches)

  1. Dave Burr 196 points
  2. Alan Steadman 185 points
  3. Jim Robinson 137 points

Match Aggregate Length Winner (From 23 matches)

Dave Burr 5289cm

Fish of the Year Winners

  • Heaviest Round Fish: Dave Burr 19lb 00oz smoothound (new SPAC record)
  • Heaviest Flat Fish: Paul Marshall 1lb 6oz flounder
  • Heaviest Silver Eel: Alan Steadman 1lb 1oz silver eel

RNLI Cheque Presentation

£100:00 to Skegness Lifeboat

AGM Match

The annual AGM match took place the day after, in a strong headwind and very rough sea at Moggs Eye. Stafford’s Dave Shorthouse made the most of his prodigious casting skills, clearing the waves into calmer water to catch two dabs and a whiting measuring 70cm in total, winning the Gordon Long Cup. He also won both the longest flatfish and round fish prizes with a 28cm dab and a 15cm whiting respectively. The only other angler to catch a fish was Croxton’s Dave Burr, who took second place with a 24cm dab.

The next SPAC match will be held on Sunday 1st Mar from 1 till 5pm at North Shore Road, with Club members fishing for the Ex-Servicemen’s Cup. There is also an open section, which non-members are welcome to participate in. All current SPAC members please note that subscriptions have remained the same as last year and are payable by the 31st March.

AGM match winner Dave Shorthouse with the longest flatfish

Facebook Comments Box

You may also like

Leave a Comment

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.